top of page

Paul William Bass is March’s Author Spotlight

I’m excited to introduce you to a great author, Paul William Bass. I originally met him at a writers conference where he read some of his work, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I’ve had the pleasure of hearing Paul speak a few times, and he’s both entertaining and interesting.

Be sure to check back here on Thursday for Paul’s interview. Until then, please enjoy this brief introduction to an extremely accomplished author

Award-winning author Paul William Bass was born in Independence, Missouri. He graduated from William Chrisman High School, Southwest Baptist College and Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. He married Jan Smashey in 1969. He served in full-time church staff positions for nineteen years In Arkansas, Alabama and Missouri. From 1990-2007, he served at Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, Arkansas as director of student activities and held various adjunct teaching positions. He became the intercollegiate debate coach with OBU debaters winning three national championships. He took early retirement in 2007, and in that year received the Isocrates Distinguished Debate Coach Award from the International Public Debate Association. During his time in Arkansas, he served in several interim pastor positions and became a bivocational pastor at Anchor Baptist Church for twelve years.

Publications and Awards: 2007, No Little Dreams: Henry Garland Bennett, Educator and Statesman (received the Henry Bennett Distinguished Fellow Award from Oklahoma State University); 2008, Fellow Dreamers: Oklahoma, Education and the World; 2009, Touching the Dream: Point Four; 2011 (2020/2021), In Jesus’ Names and Minor Characters of the Bible; 2012, Robert S. Kerr: Oklahoma’s Pioneer King (received the 2013 Missouri Writer’s Guild President’s First Place Walter Williams Major Work Award); 2013, Grace through Tolerance; 2014 (2020), Me and Church; 2016; Legacy, Leadership and Learning: The History of the School of International Studies, Oklahoma State University. 2016, The History of Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri (received the 2017 Missouri Writer’s Guild President’s First Place Walter Williams Major Work Award); 2017, Pioneer Churches in Springfield, Missouri (received the 2018 Missouri Writer’s Guild President’s Third Place Walter Williams Major Work Award); Writer of the Year 2019 Award, Springfield Writers Guild; 2019, Missouri Innovators (received the 2020 Missouri Writer’s Guild Second Place President’s Award and the Walter William Major Work Award). 2020, Me and Fundamentalist, co-author with Bob Perry; Writer of the Year 2020 Award, Springfield Writers Guild.

Future Works: The Sesquicentennial History of Greene County Baptist Association

Thank you for reading Ozarks Maven! If you’ve enjoyed my little seeds of wisdom and joy, please subscribe to Ozarks Maven, Like Ozarks Maven on Facebook, or follow me on Twitter @OzarksMaven.

I am an Amazon Associate. As such, I earn a small commission from qualifying purchases made through my affiliate links.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page